30 Before Thirty

June 30, 2010 at 2:58 pm 7 comments

One of my favorite design blogs, Making It Lovely, posted her 30 Before Thirty List earlier this spring, and it inspired me to write my own.  Nicole (of MIL) only gave herself 6 months or so to complete her list, and I have 3+ years, so I tried to be a little ambitious with some of my goals.  I also tried to only write down things that can easily be evaluated.  I’d like to consume less sugar and gossip less, but I wasn’t sure how to gauge success for things like that, unless I cut them out entirely, and unfortunately, I don’t see that happening.  I also stopped myself from including lots of items that sound really cool, but probably aren’t right for me, like getting a tattoo or hiking the Appalachian Trail.  Who knows, though, maybe I’ll change my mind.  So here’s what I came up with after some serious soul searching:

My 30 Before Thirty List:

  1. Break my hair twirling habit
  2. Monetize a blog
  3. Find dining room chairs
  4. Successfully make French macaroons (macarons?)
  5. Travel overseas with Eric
  6. Throw a largish dinner/cocktail party
  7. Tone my stomach
  8. Run in a 10k
  9. Find/purchase/move into our forever home
  10. Go to Disney World with Eric (he’s never been)
  11. Take Seamus to swim in the ocean
  12. Cook roast lamb like my mom does (as good as my mom does)
  13. See a really good Broadway show
  14. Take a frame-worthy photo
  15. Go camping
  16. Read Middlemarch
  17. Go to a drive-in movie
  18. Start a Roth IRA (embarrassed I haven’t done this yet)
  19. Compost
  20. Grow an herb garden
  21. Travel somewhere with girlfriends only
  22. Find a way to store all the books I have
  23. Rediscover my faith/join a church
  24. Guest post on a major blog
  25. Invest in a piece of art that makes me giddy
  26. Dance without being self-conscious
  27. Get a grill and use it
  28. Go a week+ without the internet
  29. Order a chef’s tasting menu at a really nice restaurant
  30. Have a baby

Three years is a pretty long time, so I might change my mind about some of these.  If I’m about to turn 30 and we’re not quite ready to buy our house, so be it.  And I’m not going to have a baby just ‘cuz it’s only list either.  If I lose interest in macaroons, I might replace that with something else.  I’ll cross off items as I complete them, and update as necessary.

So what kinds of things would you put on your 30 Before Thirty (or 20 Before Twenty, 40 Before Forty, 50 Before Fifty, etc.) List?  Please share!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Done and Done 3 Books that Changed the Way I Think

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amanda  |  June 30, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    I love how having a baby is after tasting a chef’s menu. You sound so sophisticated! Also, Middlemarch is one of the best books of the English language, in my opinion, so good on ya! Also, Jacquelyn and myself have a rockin’ church to which you should come. Wave Church in Innsbrook.

    I’m off to make my list.

    Reply
    • 2. rookiemistakesandbeginnersluck  |  June 30, 2010 at 3:39 pm

      One of my best friends gave me Middlemarch as a shower gift, and I started it but didn’t get very far, probably because I was trying to read it in my 15 minutes of SSR with every class while simultaneously trying to make sure that everyone else was also reading. I need to go back and finish it because I know it’s awesome and because I love the person who gave it to me.

      Maybe I will check out the Wave Church. I’ve heard good things. Sometimes it’s hard because I was raised Catholic, so most other kinds of churches I been to feel weird to me. Not really like they’re weird, more like I feel awkward, like I’m sneaking in or something.

      Reply
  • 3. Kara  |  June 30, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    I might have to make my list 30 before 35, as my early thirties have been full of doing things I’ve never done before. I highly recommend the 10K, though; start slowly, get real running shoes from Roadrunners. It gives you great confidence to accomplish other monster goals. Plus if you can get past hating running, it’s kind of awesome (but I also hate it). 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. rookiemistakesandbeginnersluck  |  June 30, 2010 at 10:17 pm

      I don’t hate running. Actually, it’s probably my favorite kind of exercise, definitely the only kind I was ever naturally good at. I just lack discipline, and I need to get back to it. Now that the weather isn’t quite so broiling, I should suck it up and hit the pavement.

      Reply
  • 5. Peggie  |  July 7, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Lovely cousin. Lovely. (like you, but I’m biased) You may want to link to one or more of the blogs you’d like to be a guest poster for — they may notice and invite you. #justsayin

    Reply
  • 6. Lee  |  July 19, 2010 at 2:09 am

    You can cross off the drive-in one if you head up to the Goochland Drive-In this summer – great bargain for a double-feature….they have a website you can easily google. Congrats on selling your article!

    Reply
  • 7. Allison  |  July 19, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    Love ’em all! I can help you with 11 and 14- we could just go hiking at First Landing Park, only about 1.5 hours away. …assuming that I don’t have to swim in the ocean. Goochland has a great drive-in, very family friendly atmosphere- lots of lawn chairs and laughter. We should all go some time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


