Humph

May 25, 2010 at 2:00 am 7 comments

I’ve been a little crabby lately.

Not so much on the blog, obviously.  It’s easy to avoid being a whiny blogger if you simply remove “blogger” from the equation temporarily.  Unfortunately friends, I’m going to subject you to my whining.  But not for long, I promise.

Why so glum you ask?  There are a number of reasons:

  1. Marriage isn’t all sunshine and roses. There’s lots of that, luckily, but occasionally a less ideal metaphor would be more appropriate.  I knew this before I got married, of course, but I’m not sure how much easier that makes it.
  2. Seamus reached eight months and turned EVIL.  I have lots of evidence of this, including two torn up bedroom rugs.  In addition to destroying textiles, he’s also taken to stealing food off plates and peeing as he circles the living room couch, which takes about 30 swearing-filled minutes to clean up.
  3. I missed the LOST series finale, and it’s taking way too long to download. I’m actually not upset about missing what’s sure to be the best piece of TV in history, since my brother’s senior show was totally worth it, but I’m pretty pissed at myself that I didn’t plan ahead and start the downloading process this morning because right now it’s at 14.6% and says it’s still got 1 day and 16 hours left until it’s done.  eff.
  4. And probably the biggest cause of my crabbiness, the thing that’s been exacerbating #1 and leaving me with little patience for #2 and #3: a few months ago I resigned from my job. Not resigned like gave my 2-weeks notice.  I’m not an a-hole (honestly, I think it’s pretty crappy when teachers quit midyear unless they have a really good reason) and I don’t hate teaching.  Well, some days I hate teaching, but most days I don’t.  And I love (a large percentage of) my students.  But regardless, I’ve “resigned” as in given up my position for next year.  It’s exciting, but it’s also really, really scary/stressful.  I definitely don’t have anything lined up for next year, and honestly, I don’t even know what my dream job would be anyway.  I.am.freaking.out.

I just thought I’d let you know since this–especially #4–will have an effect on this blog.  There’s surprising little out there about life after teaching, which is weird considering some statistics say that up to 50% of teachers leave the profession within their first 5 years.  Where do they go??  What do they do??  I want to use this blog to contribute to that discussion.  And to chronicle my own journey.  And to post about whatever else I happen to be interested in, because, to be fair, it is my blog, and I’m not ready to pigeon-hole myself yet.  Plus I’m working on a fun decor project at my parents’ house (but no, that’s not where my career’s heading, at least not today).

So, yeah.  I already feel a tiny bit better after getting that off my chest.  Thanks friends.

Anything been making you feel crabby as of late?  Feel free to vent in the comments.

Entry filed under: Blogging, Uncategorized.

Happy Anniversary to Us! Why I’m Jumping Ship (Part I)

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kara  |  May 26, 2010 at 3:00 am

    I’m pretty sure we’ll be co-blogging next year. And commenting on each others’ posts. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Kara  |  May 26, 2010 at 3:04 am

    Also, in addition to missing the LOST finale, I missed the 3-4 episodes prior and then had broken internet and therefore could not catch up (and hence missed the finale).

    Reply
  • 3. Lee  |  June 6, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    Hang in there until Seamus turns 1…I think you will see a big difference. If not, bring him over and Alpha Dog Mia will have a chat with him. She helped “train” the neighbor’s white lab…

    Reply
  • 4. Eva  |  June 29, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    So I stumbled across this through a series of links on facebook…I could give you the entire pathway, but that would just be boring. I just wanted to comment on leaving teaching. I, too, after just three years, am leaving teaching. Yes, I have resigned. I have a huge range of emotions towards leaving teaching. I also never dreamed I would be here just three years after starting. Anyway, you ask where do teachers go? Well, I am going back to school to get my PhD. Obviously, not all teachers take that route, but I somehow have. And not a day goes by that I wonder if I’m doing the right thing. I thought it just might be a little comforting to hear that there are others struggling with the thought of leaving teaching.

    Reply
    • 5. rookiemistakesandbeginnersluck  |  June 30, 2010 at 10:26 pm

      Eva! So good to hear from you! Congratulations on going after your PhD; it’s a noble path. Do you think you want to teach at the college level or do you plan to do something totally different?

      I hope that you’re enjoying the freedom of summer right now. I’ve actually found myself questioning my decision lately, but I think that stems from the fact that everyone else is off now too (so I would be anyway) and I’m getting anxious about the end of my paychecks come mid-August. I’m still sure I made the right decision; it’s just a little scary in the beginning.

      Reply
      • 6. Eva  |  July 8, 2010 at 5:19 pm

        Oh thank you! Every day I think I change my mind about what I want to do, so right now I’m just going to learn everything I can and think about that when the time gets closer.

        I’ve actually started “working” in Charlottesville for a professor, but only part time, so I can still say it feels like summer (especially with this heat!) I’ve already gotten that last paycheck and so am a bit stressed about not having that steady income. I think if you give it some time and yourself some time to figure things out, you’ll realize you needed to do this or at least try it out. But yes, I’d say change of any sort is scary. I’m still scared about my decision to do this!

        I really hope you find something that you love and are happy with. We have to work for the rest of our lives, so we might as well find something that makes us happy, right?

  • 7. Eva  |  June 29, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    I realized I typed in the wrong email…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


