Florals

May 1, 2010 at 12:56 am 3 comments

One of the things distracting me from my blogging duties as of late was that I hosted my first book group meeting last Sunday.  Not a good excuse, you say?  Probably true, but in my defense, it was the first time we’ve had more than a couple guests (aside from my family this Easter) in our house at one time.  Thus, I kept referring to it as “my party,” which confused Eric more than once.  The point is, I really wanted everything to be perfect.  It wasn’t, but it was still a success overall, so I thought I’d share one of my favorite details: a trio of yellow flowers in matching vases.

This pic isn’t working well with my Polaroid-esque formatting, so I’m shunning tradition and walking on the wild side.   The vases were on clearance at Target for  10 smackaroos a piece.  Not the deal of the century, but it did save me about $15 since I was planning on getting another (in my opinion, inferior) option from Crate and Barrel.  The flowers are from Whole Foods.  And can I just say that their selection should put all other grocery stores to shame.  Seriously.

Here’s a closer look.

Tulips

Ranunculus

Calla Lily

I really like how the structured tulips and calla lilies framed the more free-flowing ranunculus.  It feels balanced without being too, too matchy.  So what do you think, should I give up my teaching job to arrange flowers?  I can specialize in book club parties (literary luncheons?  fiction fetes?).  No? Not a good idea?  Ok, should I get a better camera?  Or at least remember to take pictures during the daytime to take advantage of all the natural light we get?  Yes, I should.  Sorry for the craptastic pictures.  They all looked better in real life.  I tried though.

So what are your favorite ways to arrange flowers?  Do you like one big full vase?  Lots of little bud vases?  And what about the flowers themselves?  Do you make your own mixed bouquet?  Do you prefer monochromatic arrangements?  What’s your petal preference?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I suck at blogging, but have this for dinner anyway. Happy Anniversary to Us!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jacquelyn  |  May 11, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    These look lovely, Cat! 🙂 I really enjoy the yellow-y-ness of the flowers.

    I’ve never tried bud vases, but they seem like a great idea. I want many flowers in my house all the time! I like to mix my own bouquets.

    Reply
  • 2. Bailey@peppermintbliss  |  May 16, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    I am horrible at flower arranging, I usually just get a whole bunch of one pretty flower and shove em in a vase…ta-da!! I adore ranunculus. And peonies. And hydrangeas.

    Reply
  • 3. The Gonest Gal  |  June 4, 2010 at 3:16 am

    You are so ranunculus.

    I scattered a bunch of wildflower seeds in a few beds this spring, and they’re starting to come up! I can’t wait to arrange them and put flowers in every room in the house.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


