Progress

April 6, 2010 at 2:01 am Leave a comment

I just wanted to take a second to post an update on some progress I’ve been making.  Obviously this is far from done, but I’ve got to take it one step at a time folks.

Notice the lamps–$40 a piece from HomeGoods (including the shades!)–saving us a ton compared to the $300 we were going to spend to fix and shade the vintage ones.  I still love those and I’m not ready to part with them yet or anything, but I’m quite pleased with our budget alternative.  Another big change is the relocated mirror, which makes way more sense in its new home.  Only 25% of the cubbies are filled, I know.  Baby steps.

Here’s a close up of one of the cubbies, featuring the Japanese fisherman that I stole was gifted from my parents.  Feel free to judge me by my book selection.  I know I always snoop in bookcase pics (or people’s houses for that matter).

My fisherman friend lost his pole in one of my parents’ many moves, but I don’t think that really detracts from his charm.

Also, since we just hosted our first holiday meal on Sunday, I thought I’d share a pic of a place setting too:

I recently picked up the chargers for half off at Macy’s, and ran out on Saturday for white napkins and napkin rings (Target) and supplies to make the initials (Michael’s).   I was inspired by this post with a similar place setting from I Suwannee, one of my favorite blogs.  If you don’t already read it, you should start.  Jamie posts great ideas just about every day, and lots of pretty pictures.  Plus she made me feel like a rock star when she was the very first person to post a comment on my blog.  (Seriously, I called my brother just to tell him “a real blogger” had been my first commenter, which means that neither my mom nor my husband had to fill that slot.  Win.)  The very pretty beaded flowers were a last minute addition.  My mom brought them as an Easter gift.  Love.

Anyways, I’m now on spring break.  It will be filled with research paper grading (boo!) but hopefully also some work on the house.  Either way, it won’t be filled with 9th graders, and I’ll be relishing that.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Lacking follow through Neighborhood Watch

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts


