Lacking follow through

March 25, 2010 at 1:31 am 2 comments

I’m one of those people that get really excited about an idea and give it 150%… until it’s about 20% done, that is.  My mom and husband will both attest to this.  I really do go into all my projects with the best intentions, but I tend to underestimate the time and frustration of each project.  One of my absolute favorite blogs, Young House Love, wrote a great post recently about follow through, and the whole thing is worth reading, but one of the suggestions that stuck with me was that starting a blog can be major motivation for finishing what you start.  I’m pretty sure I was already planning on starting a blog when I read that, but I figured that the motivation would be an excellent unintended consequence.

Unfortunately, more often, I feel like the blog is just another thing I started that I now have to avoid.  I actually enjoy writing the posts; I just never feel like I have anything worth sharing.  So.  I decided to put together a list of the projects I’ve started or have long intended to start that just haven’t come to fruition yet.  Hopefully that will serve as the kick in the pants I need.

Unfinished project #1 and #2

I was so excited to get this sideboard/bookcase from Ikea because I fully expected it to be “together” (in the decor sense, not the Ikea sense) in a week or so.  I thought I’d get a post out of it, which I guess I am, but not the kind I was hoping for.  The issues here are obvious.  First, there are eight spaces and only two have anything in them.  Problem is, I haven’t the foggiest what to put in the rest.  I really don’t want to be one of those people who buys pointless nick nacks just to have pointless nick nacks around.  So there’s that.  The other glaring issue is the lamps.  My dad brought these lamps home from when he was in Hong Kong back in the 70’s, I think, and I’ve always thought they were pretty cool.  The insides of the lamps light up, in addition to the normal bulb, which may or may not be tacky, but I like them.  Too bad the 1970’s lampshades they came with didn’t age quite as well.  They’re seriously dated and grody looking.  Plus, really only one of the lamps lights up on the inside, so there was that too.  We took them to this lighting superstore in Richmond–Shades of Light–to find suitable shades and possibly get the defective one fixed.  Of course, nothing is ever as easy as I expect.  The shades I picked out were $100 a piece, and we discovered that there isn’t a lamp shade in existence that would attach to the lamps’ harps (the medal part that goes over the light bulb).  So they’d need to replace that, and that requires replacing everything electrical too.  It’s complicated, and I’m already dragging this post out.  Suffice it to say that fixing the harps and the non-functioning inner-light comes to $50 a lamp.  And we’re cheap.  Or thrifty.  Or something.  But damn it, I know I can get two decent new lamps with shades for under $300.  And that’s as far as we’ve gotten with that.

Unfinished Project #3

This isn’t as bad.  Really I just need to buy some nice pots, because the Lowe’s issued black plastic ones just aren’t cutting it.  I should also try to remember to water them.  That’s been a bit of an unfinished project itself…  :-/

Unfinished project #4

There’s another shot of the infamous china cabinet.  Still unfinished, not surprisingly.  It actually got a little worse a couple weeks ago because we had (stupidly) shut the cabinet doors and then we needed to, you know, open them.  They were pretty much glued shut.  Eric pulled on the knob until the crystally ball thing popped off, so that’s now sitting on top.  I expect that it can be glued back on, but there’s no point until I fix the doors so open and close like they’re supposed to.  #4 actually refers to the mirror, though.  I got inspired by another of Sherry’s posts on YHL (I’m such a groupie), and painted that mirror with leftover blue paint.  It didn’t go nearly as smoothly as Sherry’s example, but it’s (mostly) done.  As long as you don’t get too close, it’s done.  That’s not the issue.  The issue is that it’s currently hanging in the most bizarre location of our dining room.  Why is it hanging so high and way off to the left?  That’s where the anchor was.  Eventually it will be moved above the sideboard to be flanked by whatever lamps sit there, but for now it’s just hanging where the hook was.  Our house has tons of anchors/nails/hooks in the wall.  Unfortunately they’re almost all as randomly placed as this one.  I think someone really tall must have lived here before us.

Ok, there are a bunch more unfinished projects throughout my house, but for now I’m going to stop with the dining room ones.  This post is long enough.  Probably too long.  And as you know, I don’t tend to finish what I start.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Rainy Weekend Progress

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bailey@peppermintbliss  |  March 30, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    Haha I love this post, it’s so true! I do find that bloggin makes me more accountable to my goals…although if you saw the state of my life right now you would give me the serious side eye

    Reply
  • 2. eric @ my First Garage  |  April 1, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    We all have that problem sometimes. It even happens to me – but when it does, I take a break, check the RSS feed (of which you are a part of), and then get back to work when the time is right.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


