Rainy Weekend

March 15, 2010 at 1:07 am Leave a comment

Update on the PB “Class”:

First of all, when I called to schedule, they guy told me it was at 8:00.  I put it on my google calendar and everything.  So I drove to the West End in the wee hours of Saturday morning, only to arrive to be told that the class was at 9:00.  Being me, I immediately thought, “man, how’d I mess that up??”  But then the lady said they’d tried to get in touch with everyone, but maybe they couldn’t reach me.  So it wasn’t my fault.  Kind of annoying, but luckily I was in a good mood.  I camped out at Starbucks for a while–sorry I didn’t have a book with me, but glad I had some grading–and enjoyed one of their new Dark Cherry Mochas and a slice of Reduced Fat Banana Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake.  Yummy.  When it got close to 9:00, I meandered my way back over to Pottery Barn and signed in.  There were about 8 of us I think, and I could have been anyone’s daughter.  I was a good 20 years younger than every other woman there, and yes, not surprisingly, it was all women, but that was fine with me.  There were two presenters, one of which I liked, the other was just eh.  They showed us three table displays–a casual Easter meal, a formal Easter meal, and a Sunday brunch with their current farm theme–and a few console/mantle/buffet displays that aren’t worth mentioning.

The actual table displays were not really my style.  There was an overabundance of “sweet” white ceramic bunnies: bunny cookie jars, bunny statues, bunny salt and pepper shakers, bunny napkin holders.  I’m not one to collect ceramic bunnies.  Or egg shaped things in various pastel shades.  But I did appreciate their discussion of using pieces of various heights on the table.  I was very temped to purchase a simple glass vase and some faux tree limbs.  “Faux” always sounds so bad to me, but we’re not exactly in the position to be cutting branches off real dogwoods or cherry blossoms right now, and some of the faux stuff actually looks pretty nice.  I didn’t end up taking the plunge, though, just because I think I could get something similar for much less somewhere else.  In their display they had three or four cherry blossom branches, and when I checked the price after the class, they were $64 a pop.  Plus the $46 vase.  It wasn’t meant to be.  I do want to find something cool to leave on our dining room table though, something with some height and pizazz.  I’ll let you know when I figure that out.

The class itself was kind of fun just because the women in it were so adorable.  And I don’t mean that in a condescending way at all.  I loved them.  The two sitting next to me were so fun.  I don’t think I’d be exaggerating when I say every single time a new item was explained or put in one of the displays, they responded with “oohs” and “ahhs” and “oh, that’s so cute” and my favorite, “isn’t that just so whimsical!”  They liked the word “whimsical” a lot.  I had to smile.  I hope when I’m in my mid-sixties I’m out and about on Saturday mornings gushing with my girlfriends about something that makes me happy.

Although I didn’t leave with any branches or vases, or any bunny or egg-shaped items for that matter, I did make a purchase.  I decided to get a simple white runner for our dinning room table.  It was $19, and with my 10% off coupon, it was $17 and some change, so nothing to feel guilty about.  While it’s not especially exciting, it’s a nice simple backdrop for whatever else I decide to get to add some drama.  I got a few other small things while I was out on Saturday, but I’ll write about those later.  None of them would wow anyone, but they’re doing it for me since our dining room is oh.so.slowly starting to come together.

In totally unrelated news, I’m reading Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout and it’s beautifully heart breaking; I highly recommend it.  Also, I really want to be in a book club.  Since I don’t currently know anyone local who’s in a book club that I could join, I think I’m going to try to start one.  We’ll see how that goes too.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

2 Things Lacking follow through

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


