Transforming the China Cabinet

February 26, 2010 at 1:37 am 1 comment

A month or so ago, I became obsessed with finding a buffet/sideboard for our dining room, which is one of the least-finished rooms in our house.  I knew I wanted something crisp and clean looking, but not too modern.  I was hoping for a solid white piece, which didn’t seem like a lot to ask for.  But after spending an inordinate amount of time searching for such a piece, I realized that most white furniture is either a. shabby chic or b. uber-modern, neither of which are our style.  But then I hit the jackpot.

Or at least I thought it was the jackpot.  I loved the way it looked with the bright white paint, vibrant interior color, and detailing on the glass doors.  What I didn’t love (and couldn’t fathom, actually): the price.  It cost over two-grand.  For a piece we don’t actually even need.  For those that have that kind of money, you can find this beauty at Ruth & Ollie in Carytown.  It’s actually on sale right now, and still way out of our price range.

So onto Plan B: ask Apartment Therapy for help.  I knew their readers would have some good ideas.  And they definitely did.  But before I could find the perfect Craigslist piece to experiment on, something really obvious dawned on me.  We already owned this china cabinet, a Christmas gift from my parents:


Now, there’s nothing wrong with the piece as it was.  I recognize that it probably pains  a lot of people to see real wood painted.  He didn’t tell me at the time, but apparently my dad had heart palpitations when I told him I’d painted it.  He was afraid to tell my mom.  So yeah, I get it, but although I thought it was a charming piece, I didn’t really think it was us.  So, I went for it.  I decided that the teal in the Ruth and Ollie sideboard was pretty, but too girlie for our house.  I picked a darker, moodier blue for the inside: Benjamin Moore’s Van Deusen Blue, for those keeping track. And the final outcome?  See for yourself.

Not too shabby, right?  I mean, I don’t think I could sell it for $2000 or anything, but I’m still pretty happy.  I’m smitten with crisp white and the way the china pops off the blue background, and I’m madly in love with the hardware I found that match the original glass doorknobs we have throughout our house.

But this blog is about fessing up to my mistakes, and, hopefully, learning from them.  I’ll just say that there were more than enough snafus for their own post, so it’s coming soon.  Prepare to be amazed with the number of blunders I can squeeze into one project.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Day #9587, Post #1 China Cabinet Snafus

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Emily A. Clark  |  April 14, 2010 at 2:15 am

    This looks great! It’s amazing what white paint can do. Beautiful job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Most Recent Posts


