Read this

August 9, 2010 at 5:50 pm 4 comments

Sorry it’s been so long!

No excuses.  Just read this, and then tell me what you think.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

30 Days to Fix My Life What motivates you?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Randi  |  August 9, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    Personally, I loved it. This girl had the maturity to realize how the system doesn’t work and how she’s at a disadvantage. Bringing it up in her valedictory address…ballsy? Disrespectful? I don’t know if I’d go that far, but eye-opening for sure. Maybe it’ll take something as bold as this for those in charge to wake up and make some real changes to the education system.

    Reply
  • 2. Kara  |  August 12, 2010 at 5:13 am

    So I read the speech and immediately thought of a former student. He is now post-high school and friended me on Facebook so I forwarded him the article. He then reposted it saying “I couldn’t have said it better.” [I did confess to him that I got the link from you!]

    Reply
  • 3. Sharla  |  August 18, 2010 at 12:04 am

    I enjoyed catching up on your Blog. I totally understood and related to your reasons for resigning and your other comments about life in general. I do feel like I have sacrificed my life and hobbies in many ways. I often say that I don’t have much of a life beyond school for 10 months of the year. However, I do believe in public education though, despite the fact that our system does fail many, and all in some respects. Still, I like seeing the successes – and over the years I have tried to make sure I am teaching with the idea of ‘real-life’ skills in mind. I share this with students as I teach something which I am sure they feel, at that given moment, that they do not need. I want them to know that I have thought about why I am teaching them whatever it is I am teaching and that I have found some value which they may not see at the time, but they may one day. For me to give an example right now would probably be oversimplified, but something I would be happy to chat about sometime.
    I am proud of you for taking a step away though to explore your other desires and to create your own path as you go. It takes true “guts” to do that and this I realize. If you ever do return to teaching, I know it will be for the right reasons again creating your own way as you go. None of us have all the answers, but for me half of the fun is discovering the small pieces of meaning that make every day worthwhile. In the beginning I never thought I would continue to teach as many years as I have now; still, I flirt with the idea of what my next career will be. Anyway… I have gone on too long, but wanted you to know you are doing the right thing. And as I have told you before, if you didn’t step away now, you would have always wondered what else you could have done. This way you will KNOW.

    Reply
  • 4. rookiemistakesandbeginnersluck  |  August 21, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Randi, I loved it too! I was really impressed that someone who was really successful in the system could still see its blemishes. I think that more often the successful students don’t want to see/acknowledge that there might be a problem with the system itself, because it might in some way take away from their success. Glad you liked it!

    Kara, I’m glad you passed it on! I saw that he liked it on Facebook. :)

    Sharla, Thank you so much for your kind, thoughtful comment! You’re a fabulous teacher, and I’m really glad you’ve stuck with it as many years as you have. People like you (you too Randi and Kara, and many other readers!) are part of the really positive sides of public education. I hope I was on the good side too, but I think you’re right. I’d always wonder if I didn’t try. And that kind of wondering can easily lead to bitterness, and bitterness is NEVER good for education.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

