The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

July 17, 2010 at 1:18 pm 5 comments

Hey friends!  I haven’t seen many of you since school let out, so I thought I’d give you a little update on my life.  In the comments, please share yours.  Or we can hang out in person.  That would be cool too.

The Good

[This is the longest list because life is good right now.  Hip hip hooray.]

  1. I (finally) sold my first article.  It was to SEED, this Beta AOL thing that isn’t set up very well (there’s no search option so you have to look through pages and pages of stuff before you find what you want), but it pays way better than most of the other freelance sites I’ve looked into.   I focused my efforts here at the beginning of the summer because of the better pay, and it didn’t start off well.  They had a bunch of “homework help” jobs, and I was like, “sweet, that’ll be easy for me.”  So I wrote articles about punctuation, synonyms and antonyms, homonyms and homophones, and onomatopoeia.  And then I got struck down for being overconfident when every single one of them got rejected (or “not selected” as they put it).  Eff.  So I looked at other sites, some of which pay like $3.37 for articles and I was really feeling sucky.  Oh, but before I got rejected and ran away with my tail between my legs, I submitted two other articles for AOL’s travel site, one about a day in DC with tweens and one about local lingo in Charlottesville.  Imagine my surprise when, earlier this week, I got a an email saying they’d purchased my article about DC to the tune of 50 smackaroos.  $50 isn’t much in the real world, but it’s good for just starting out freelancing on the internet.  If you don’t believe me, try to motivate yourself to write 300 words for $2.24.  It hasn’t been published yet, but be forewarned that I will post a link as soon as it is, and I expect you to click through and marvel at my glory.
  2. Uhh.  Dan Pink commented on my blog.  That made me very, very excited.
  3. There’s so much inspiration on the interwebs!  I know I haven’t been posting anything much on decor for a while, but design blogs still make up the majority of my pleasure reading.  I just discovered Decor Demon (through I Suwannee) and he’s my newest internet crush because he’s so incredibly awesome.  Shininess!  Bright colors!  Graphic wallpaper!  Love.  Anyways, everything he does/posts about floats my boat, but since I’ve been wanting to redo chairs for my dining room, this project made me weak in the knees.  He took flee market finds like this:
    And turned them into this:


    Swoon.  One more fun thing you need to check out:  Catalog Living.  You’ll laugh so hard.  She makes fun of catalog styling and posts gems like this everyday:

    Elaine was not amused by Gary’s passive-aggressive response to her request to “garnish the cocktails.”

  4. I’m working on an exciting new project.  I’ll share by the end of the month.  That’s all I’ll say now, but I wanted to give you a heads up.  Be excited.

The Bad

  1. Why does it cost so much to get women’s clothes dry cleaned?  That pisses me off.  I brought a ton of stuff to the dry cleaner’s the other day, and Eric’s NINE shirts cost something like $20 and change, and my two dresses each cost over $11.  One of them, swear to God, had less fabric to clean than any of Eric’s shirts.  (It’s sleeveless and fairly short.)  Seriously, where do they get off?
  2. That’s all I’ve got.

The Ugly

  1. Last night I had my first school dream nightmare since we got out.  I guess I hadn’t really quit because I was teaching next year, but they’d still given my room away, and I had to travel between rooms on opposite ends of the building.  I was late to my second block, which was standard English 11 (what???), and it had 38 students.  And some of them were like my former smartest students, so that was confusing.  We didn’t have enough books.  Or seats.  I couldn’t get them to settle down.  I woke up in a cold sweat.  (not really)  What could it mean?
  2. I told you, my life is good; I got nothin else.

So, friends, what’s going on in your lives?  Please share.  I seriously love it when you comment.  (almost as much as when Dan Pink comments.  almost.)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

3 Books that Changed the Way I Think 30 Days to Fix My Life

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Eric  |  July 17, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    We’re going to indulge in the Ultimate Ticket Combo at B&M smv.org! Tags: the good, today, meta

    Reply
  • 2. Amanda  |  July 17, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    Um YAY for SEED. The site is poorly designed..maybe they pay better because they had a 12 year old design it? Maybe? No?

    Reply
  • 3. Kara  |  July 18, 2010 at 1:24 am

    I will definitely read your article–link away! Congrats.

    Reply
  • 4. Bailey@peppermintbliss  |  July 18, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    Oh my gosh I need to go check out catalog living now. hillar.

    Reply
  • 5. D@#  |  July 20, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    Congrats on the publication–may it be the first of many! And your first “celebrity” comment on your blog–very cool :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

